Elia Naqvi

Practice Area: Juvenile Delinquency and Juvenile Dependency


Elia Naqvi, a Canadian citizen, received her Bachelor of Arts degree on the Dean’s Honor List from McMaster University in Ontario, Canada. During her college years, she was nominated the Ontario Scholar and received the City of Niagara Falls Achievement Award and the Westlane Secondary School Business Award. She earned her law degree at the University of Western Ontario, Canada.

In 2022, Elia was awarded the County of Orange Certificate of Recognition for Service to the Veterans of Orange County, the Orange County Bar Association Volunteer 2022 Certificate of Appreciation, and the Temporary Judge Program Certificate of Appreciation.


Licensed in both California and New York, Elia is a veteran in the field of criminal and juvenile law with over 22 years of professional experience. She has a strong background in juvenile delinquency and dependency cases, showcasing dedication towards representing parents and promoting reunification. Her career began in the Orange County Public Defender’s office where she worked for six years before transitioning to private practice in 2008. She has tried over 45 criminal jury trials and conducted over 90 preliminary hearings in superior court on felony cases. In dependency court, she has tried approximately 60 court trials, with almost 400 motions and terminations of parental rights hearings. As a mother of four, her personal experiences significantly enhance her ability to empathize with and advocate for families involved in the criminal justice and juvenile dependency system.

Elia has also served as a temporary judge from 2019 to the present and volunteers her time as a pro bono criminal defense attorney to the Veterans Legal Clinic. She is a member of numerous legal associations, notably, she co-founded and has been an executive board member of the Orange County Unity Bar since 2022. She is also the current President of the Muslim Bar Association of Southern California.

Message from Elia

During the past 20 years, I have concentrated on criminal defense work, delinquency and dependency where I represent the parents. I love being in court and am very comfortable with representing children and I am pro-parent for reunification goals. I am thrilled to be joining Moore Law for Children to represent families in these areas and to expand my service to families needing assistance in school matters. On a personal level, I am a mother of 4 children. I have two teenagers, a 5 year-old son and an almost 2 year old daughter. My youngest two children are adopted. We love to travel as a family and have been to numerous continents and countries.